Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Local Government

Article 71 of the Constitution states that Local Government is a vital aspect of democracy and sh all be organized so as to involve as many people as possible in the task of managing a nd developing the communities in which they live. For this purpose, the said Article 71 of the Constitution also states that Parliament shall provide for a country-wide system of Local Government through the establishment of organs of lo cal democratic power as an integral part of the political organisation of the state. In compliance with Article 71 of the Constitution 71 Local Authority Areas comprising six Municipalities or towns and 65 Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDCs) have been established in Guyana.

Whats New...