Skip to content Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

About Us

The Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development is the primary Agency that links the various authorities with the Central Government. It facilitates, coordinates, and monitors the execution and implementation of a number of projects, programmes and activities in the various local government arms/organs and ensures that these activities are in conformity with the legal framework and the policies of the Government.

Vision and Mission Statements:

Vision: To improve the quality of life of Guyanese by promoting the development of cohesive, empowered, and sustainable communities (CESC) through collaborative and integrated planning, good governance, and satisfactory service delivery.

Mission: To supervise and maintain the legal and regulatory framework of the Local and Regional administration; to encourage and facilitate the development of the regions and local organs; and to support the continued integration and development of the hinterland communities.

Core Values:

Accountability and Transparency

Equity and Equality


Honesty and Integrity

Innovativeness and Creativity

Efficiency and Effectiveness

Customer-centered services

Participatory Approach and Inclusiveness

Divisions of the Ministry

The Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development addresses its mission through three programmes:

Main Office: Ensures the successful implementation of the Government plans, policies, and programmes in accordance with good governance, facilitating infrastructural and human resource development in the Regions. The two Ministers, the Permanent Secretary and their Secretariat, and the Special Projects Officer serve in this Division.

Ministry Administration: Provides effective administrative and accounting services; promotes and coordinates career development within the Ministry; and supports human resource development efforts generic to Regional Democratic Council. Four Sections make up this Division, namely:

  1. General Administration
  2. Personnel
  3. Registry
  4. Accounts

Policy Development and Administration: Is responsible for effectively and efficiently formulating regional and local government policy and legislation; monitoring the implementation said policy; and for ensuring the proper management of human, financial, and physical resources.

Regional Development
: Is responsible for facilitating and monitoring the development of the Regions by coordinating regional strategic planning which promotes good governance, inclusivity, economic and social development and is grounded by policy coordination, collaboration, and capacity building.

Local Government Development: Is responsible for facilitating and monitoring the development of communities through the strengthening of the local democratic organs enabling them to efficiently provide public goods and services to the communities and be financially self-sufficient.

Meet our team!